Update 3: The next chapter begins

June 29, 2009 at 6:53 am (Uncategorized)

That’s right.  On June 27th, 2009 Mike proposed to me.  Now, you probably already knew that.  What you’re really looking for is the juicy story.  Here it is:

After a fun evening hanging out with friends, we took Taylor home.  On the way back to my house, Mike said we were going to the Chapel.  It was about 12:45 a.m. but I’m always up for some time with Jesus so I agreed to it.  I also had the sneaking suspicion that he was going to propose.  In the hour of time we spent in Adoration, Mike asked me nearly five times “what I was thinking” or “how I was feeling”.  I brushed it off as him being nervous.  After all, I didn’t want to call him out on the proposal and ruin the surprise.

Little did I know, Mike had spent that hour praying for confirmation that it was the right time.  My answer would have been that final confirmation…too bad I never told him I had that “feeling” that it was the right time.  We left the Chapel, discussed our separate experiences there, and then laughed/kicked ourselves when we realized we had missed that opportune moment.  We had almost gotten engaged at 2 a.m.

We resolved to go back later on.  Mike and I went to the 7 a.m. Mass that day.  Following that, we walked around the Chapel and prayed aloud together.  Finally, after completing our circle around the pond, we came to the brick rosary walk and sat down on a bench.  He told me he wasn’t going to say all of the cliche stuff for two reasons.  1) He obviously wanted to “spend the rest of his life with me” and “wake up next to me everyday” etc if he wanted to marry me. 2) He tells me that all the time.

So, instead, he told me things he admired and appreciated about me.   About my faith, purity, and how I’ve inspired him.  We prayed the Our Father line by line, alternating.  I was a little teary, as he finally asked me to marry him, but it was no surprise.  Sure, it may not sound like the fairy tale, but he made a good point.  We’ve made every decision in this relationship as a team, with God and us.  We’ve stayed consistent in that.  No surprises, no one being out of the loop.  Why should this even bigger moment in our lives be any different?

It was perfect in every flawed, goofy, ridiculous way.  We leaped in faith, please keep praying that we land safely.

God bless,
Caitlyn

Leave a comment